Sanilac County News

Deckerville selects new superintendent

DECKERVILLE — The Deckerville Board of Education has selected the school district’s next superintendent.

Via a 6-1 vote, the board selected Matthew Connelly.

The decision was made Monday evening following second-round interviews with three finalists from an original list of 11 candidates: Matthew Connelly, principal of Deckerville Elementary School; Ryan Eugster, assistant principal of Croswell-Lexington Middle School; and Sean Wrightman, principal of Dowagiac Union Middle School.

Connelly has been Deckerville’s junior-senior high principal since 2012. Prior to that, he was a teacher at Deckerville for six years, teaching fifth and sixth grade science, and a fourth-grade teacher at Geiger Elementary in Croswell.

Deckerville’s current superintendent, Michael Hugan, who has served since 2017 has tendered his resignation effective June 30.