2017-08-02 / Celebrations & Milestones

Foundation announces more scholarship winners

The Sanilac County Community Foundation continues to roll out the 2017 scholarship recipients.

For information on scholarship opportunities through the Foundation, contact the executive director, Melissa Anderson, at 810-648- 3634.

Here are the recipients:

Maximilian Whittredge Maximilian Whittredge • Maximilian Whittredge, a graduate of Croswell-Lexington High School, received the Lexington VFW Scholarship. He plans to attend Spring Arbor University to major in youth ministry.

• Luke Reehl, a graduate of Marlette High School, received the Robert Kenneth & Janette 
Luke Reehl Luke Reehl Grace Knight Scholarship. Luke is the son of Mark and Suzanne Reehl of Decker. He plans to attend Ferris State University to pursue a bachelor’s degree in product design engineering. The scholarship is awarded by the Robert Kenneth & Janette Grace Knight Estate to provide grants to help graduates of Marlette High School further their education.

Christian Falls Christian Falls • Christian Falls, a graduate of Carsonville- Port Sanilac High School received the James Mitchell Memorial Scholarship. He is the son of Christopher and Nicole Falls of Port Sanilac. Christian will attend Saginaw Valley State University. The scholarship honors the memory of James Mitchell and is awarded to a graduating senior at Carsonville-Port Sanilac High School who plans to pursue a career in a vocation or trade.

• Kristyn Franzel, a graduate of Sandusky High School has received the Thee Valhalla 
Kristyn Franzel Kristyn Franzel Scholarship. Kristyn is the daughter of Gary and Cindy Franzel. She plans to attend St. Clair County Community College to study business and later transfer to Oakland University to major in actuarial science.

Established by a Sandusky High School teacher, the donor requested recipients establish a similar fund or donate back to the fund to perpetuate student interest in mathematics.

Hannah Marshall Hannah Marshall • Hannah Marshall, a graduate of Marlette High School, received the Edward and Viviene Huntoon Memorial Scholarship. She is the daughter of Jim and

Heather Marshall of Marlette. She will attend Bethel College in Indiana to major in elementary education.

Edward Huntoon, a businessman and his wife, Viviene, were committed to the importance of education.

• Madison Kroetsch, a graduate of Croswell- Lexington Schools has received the Thorley 
Madison Kroetsch Madison Kroetsch Family Scholarship. Madison is the daughter of Damon and Traci Kroetsch. She plans to attend Alma College to study education. The Thorley Family Scholarship is available to a Croswell-Lexington graduate planning to pursue a career in education and or business finance.

Miranda Coombs Miranda Coombs • Miranda Coombs, a graduate of Croswell- Lexington High School, received the Cros-Lex Pioneers Scholarship, established by Croswell- Lexington Schools. Miranda is the daughter of Tom and Debra Coombs of Lexington. She plans to attend Trine University to study physical therapy.

Return to top

Copyright © 2009-2018 Sanilac County News, All Rights Reserved

Special Sections

Click here for digital edition
2017-08-02 digital edition